Congress of the United States

Washington, DC 20510

July 7, 2022

The Honorable Thomas R. Carper Chairman Committee on Environment & Public Works U.S. Senate Washington, DC 20510

The Honorable Peter DeFazio Chairman Transportation & Infrastructure Committee U.S. House Washington, D.C. 20515 The Honorable Shelly Moore Capito Ranking Member Committee on Environment & Public Works U.S. Senate Washington, D.C. 20510

The Honorable Sam Graves
Ranking Member
Transportation & Infrastructure Committee
U.S. House
Washington, D.C. 20515

Dear Chairs Carper and DeFazio and Ranking Members Capito and Graves:

Thank you for your continued efforts to maintain a biennial Water Resources Development Act (WRDA). This process provides each of us and our constituents an opportunity to address important navigation, ecosystem, and flood protection issues critical to our communities. We write in support of inclusion of section 103 of S. 4136, the Water Resources Development Act of 2022 (WRDA) in the final bill. Section 103 would adjust the cost-share for inland waterway projects to 75% general revenue/ 25% Inland Waterways Trust Fund (IWTF). Section 103 is paramount to ensuring reliable inland waterways transportation and will help the nation address growing concerns regarding supply chain efficiencies and emissions in the transportation sector.

Historically, Congress and the Nation have consistently recognized the vital contribution that waterborne transportation makes to overall economic prosperity. As a result, public expenditures to maintain navigation channels and build related infrastructure were among the nation's earliest investments. However, our constituents have a growing concern over our aging inland waterways infrastructure as they become more vital to our economy with agriculture exports increasing each year. According to the USACE, more than 80% of the locks and dams on the inland waterways system are past their design life of 50 years.

The inland waterways are naturally situated in the breadbasket of America, which gives American farmers competitive advantages globally. This advantage provides the United States with an opportunity to assist in feeding the world while making up the lost food from the Ukraine and Russian conflict. It's important to note the inland waterways system plays a more prominent role in domestic transportation. One barge can carry approximately 1,750 short tons of dry cargo compared to 16 rail cars and 70 semi-tractor trailers. Additionally, the efficiency gained from transportation by barge is unmatched by other modes of surface transportation. Barge transportation can move one ton of goods 675 miles per gallon of fuel compared to 472 for rail and 151 for trucking – making it one of the most efficient, safest, and environmentally friendly means of surface transportation.

Currently, construction and major rehabilitation projects on the nation's inland waterways transportation system have a cost-share at 65% general revenue/ 35% Inland Waterways Trust Fund (IWTF), per a cost-share adjustment in 2020. Prior to 2020, inland waterways had a cost-share for construction and major rehabilitation projects of 50% general revenue/ 50% IWTF.

In WRDA 2016, Congress changed the construction cost-share attributable to deepening coastal ports with depths between 45 and 50 feet from 50% non-Federal sponsor/50% general revenues to 25% non-Federal project sponsor/75% general revenues. As members representing inland states with ports and facilities, we request parity with the adjustments made for coastal port construction projects and believe this adjustment would ensure fairness between port and inland waterway construction projects.

These changes were made for coastal port construction projects because finishing projects faster can reduce both final project cost and the amount of time resulting benefits from the project can be realized. This is the same argument for adjusting the cost-share for inland waterways construction and major rehabilitation projects.

As you move forward with negotiations of WRDA 2022, we respectfully urge the inclusion of section 103 of the Senate WRDA 2022.

Sincerely,

Rodney Davis

Member of Congress

Jesús G. "Chuy" García Member of Congress

Mike Bost

Member of Congress

Conor Lamb

Member of Congress

Pete Stauber

Member of Congress

Angie Craig

Cheri Bustos

Member of Congress

Clay Higgins

Momber of Cong

Member of Congress

Robert B. Aderbook

Robert B. Aderholt Member of Congress Guy Reschenthaler Member of Congress

Mark Pocan

Member of Congress

Member of Congress

Trent Kelly

David B. McKinley, P.E.

Member of Congress

Ron Kind

Member of Congress

carol D. Miller

Carol D. Miller

Member of Congress

James Comer

John Rose

Member of Congress

In Ow Rose

Member of Congress

Member of Congress

Troy Carter

Charles J. "Chuck"

Fleischmann

John Yarmuth

Member of Congress

Member of Congress

Jan Schakowsky

Member of Congress

Blaine Luetkemeyer

Member of Congress

Member of Congress

Tim Burchett

Member of Congress

Sean Casten

Steve Cohen

Steve Cohen Member of Congress Adrian Smith

Member of Congress

Bobby L. Rush

Member of Congress

Jake LaTurner

Member of Congress

Darin LaHood

Member of Congress

Vicky Hartzler

Member of Congress

Bill Foster

Member of Congress

Bradley Scott Schneider Member of Congress

Jim Cooper

Member of Congress

Mariannette Miller-Meeks,

Foste

M.D.

David Kustoff
Member of Congress

David Kustof

Larry Bucshon, M.D. Member of Congress

Frank D. Lucas Member of Congress

Randy Feenstra Member of Congress

Troy Balderson Member of Congress Bruce Westerman
Member of Congress

Marie Newman Member of Congress

Brian Babin, D.D.S. Member of Congress

Michael Guest Member of Congress

Mike Kelly Member of Congress Robin L. Kelly Member of Congress Emanuel Cleaver, II Member of Congress

Raja Krishnamoorthi Member of Congress

Cynthia Axne Member of Congress

Brett Guthrie Member of Congress

Tracey Mann
Member of Congress

Steven M. Palazzo Member of Congress

Dan Newhouse Member of Congress

Jason Smith Member of Congress Kevin Hern Member of Congress Andy Barr

Member of Congress

Mike Johnson

Member of Congress

Bd Dill

Bob Gibbs

Member of Congress

Julia Letlow Member of Congress

Bryan Steil

Member of Congress

Eric A. "Rick" Crawford Member of Congress

Member of Congress

Dean Phillips

Member of Congress

Steve Womack

Member of Congress

Troy E. Nehls

Tom Emmer

Member of Congress

Mike Quigley
Member of Congress

Michelle Fischbach Member of Congress

Terri A. Sewell

Member of Congress

Ani Sewell

French Hui

French Hill

Member of Congress

Ann Wagner

Member of Congress

Lizzie Fletcher

Member of Congress

Ashley Hinson

Member of Congress

Michael R. Turner Member of Congress

Michael M. June